By Natural Philosopher Mike Prestwood
Timeline Story

Modern Cosmology

Modern Cosmology

From Year 0 (BCE/CE): 1608
Post Date: 06/03/1608

30 Phil, Chapter 21, Galileo, Touchstone 54: Modern Cosmology.

The story of Galileo is also the story of Copernicus, and the story of modern cosmology. To properly tell the story of Copernicus, we need to mention Aristarchus of Samos, a Greek astronomer and mathematician born around 310 BCE. Aristarchus put forth a heliocentric model, proposing that the Earth and other planets orbited the Sun. Unfortunately, his ideas did not gain widespread acceptance. Over the millennia some scholars had the idea that the universe was vast, but no proof. With the invention of the telescope in 1608, the proof was within reach. This was the time when our human-centric world expanded into the vastness of space. 

4 Minutes with Mike Prestwood: Weekly Wisdom Builder
June 16, 2024 Edition
Time Left: 
Wisdom at the crossroads of knowledge.

Wisdom emerges from the consistent exploration of the intersections of philosophy, science, critical thinking, and history.

Get the full story…

These timeline stories are part of my Visual Insights page, where our best ideas come alive. Dive into these timelines to gain a broader perspective, as found in the Stoic practice of the “view from above.” For a deeper exploration of our best ideas beyond learning by meme, check out my new book…

BUY THE BOOK!  Immerse yourself in knowledge, not snippets.

30 Philosophers: A New Look at Timeless Ideas

Placeholder image.

by Mike Prestwood (Author)
Dive deeper than headlines and memes and explore the minds of the greatest thinkers. Nothing compares to the depth and insight gained from the immersive experience of a book.
Beyond the Buzz: Uncover lasting knowledge!
  • Discover how 30 influential philosophers shaped our understanding of the world.
  • Explore the concepts that continue to influence science, art, and culture today.
  • Get your copy now and start thinking like the greatest minds in history!

Uncover the Timeless Wisdom of 30 Philosophers!


Scroll to Top